Launched in 2001, The FA Charter Standard Programme supported by McDonald’s is The FA’s accreditation scheme for grassroots clubs and leagues.
Its goal is to raise standards in grassroots football, support the development of clubs and leagues, recognising and rewarding them for their commitment and achievements.
With this in mind, The FA Charter Standard accreditation is awarded to clubs and leagues rigorously adjudged to be well-run and sustainable – and which prioritise child protection, quality coaching and implementation of the Respect programme.

There are three levels of FA Charter Standard Awards for clubs:
FA Charter Standard Club for youth and adult clubs: the entry-level accreditation
FA Charter Standard Development Club: for clubs clearly enhancing the quality and scope of their football offering
FA Charter Standard Community Club: acknowledging the most advanced level of club development and football provision


We currently hold the FA Charter Standard Club accreditation and are working with the County FA to achieve the highest level of accreditation, FA Charter Standard Community Club.

This means that the FA have validated that we have the following in place:

We have an FA-trained Club Welfare Officer
A minimum of a FA Level 1 coach for each team
Criminal Record Checks (CRC) for all volunteers involved in the club
FA Emergency Aid-trained volunteers linked to each team
Signed-up to and delivering The FA’s Respect programme
Appropriate administration governance in place
An FA Charter Standard Co-ordinator recruited